Algorithm that Change

How can you change brains to build the future?

9 ALGORITHMS THAT CHANGE THE FUTURE
The Ingenious Ideas that Drive Today’s Computers
– John MacCormick

“Is this Right?” – my 92 year old mother asks
“What do you think?” – my answer each day as she gets dressed

Are we helping children too much in the classroom? Are we so focused on the grade that it prevents thinking and creativity because they fear getting something wrong? My mother loves reading comics, so showed me this one. It reminded me of what my 4-year old grandson said when we looked at a sad plant and we talked about where it might be happy. I asked him where he was happy. He said in the garden. I asked where he was unhappy. He said where he gets in trouble. Algorithms are rules, and are needed to control computers. But kids are not robots and need an environment where they can mix paint and numbers, and learn about cryptography, Algorithm #3 in the book above.

Family Circus 3-24-14

Family Circus 3-24-14

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *