HAP Coding in the Arts

Plan “B” … Option “B” … Harvey has required postponing the HAP Conference …
Maybe Plan “B” can be to create innovative time in schools gained from
eliminating accountability testing this year. Students need an option “B” beyond required seat time replaced with community service time.

CODING IN THE ARTS Session Saturday 9/16/2017 10:30

This STEAM focused session, combining computer science thinking with creative skills, pairs well with the HAP conference theme, Better Together, which seeks to integrate arts education with other subjects.

ARTS ALL AROUND FESTIVAL 9/16 1:00 (FREE)

Featuring Susan Karnosky who recently discovered the connection of art and coding … “I’m wearing my binary bracelet, thinking of you. I’m so happy we met at ISTE! I needed to get a little distance from the conference to realize that (WHAM!!!!) what I teach about creating songs and musicals is entirely based on computational thinking. Thank you for helping me discover this.”

I feel like people often have a misconception that the arts and STEM are somehow mutually exclusive when in fact students can learn so much about science technology engineering and math through hands-on arts experiences. – Wanjun Zhang  Codeparkhouston.orgABI Houston

Adriana L. López, NCWIT Aspirations Winner

“My interest was sparked in computer science once I figured out in an educational computer science program, that animation is linked to computer science. I had always found myself confused on whether I should study art or science, and this was the solution for my problem. Not only was it just a solution, but it was also a new door towards a new growing interest in animation and computer science.”

 

WHY … IS IT TAKING SO LONG?

 2004 Using the Design Recipe and Graphics in Algebra

2002 AP Central – Supporting Girls in CS by Programming with Graphics

WHY … CONTENT NEEDED TO MOTIVATE INTEREST, LIKE AP CSP


I HAVE A THOUGHT – GO FOR IT … INNOVATIVE TIME TO THINK TO CREATE

KNOWING HOW TO FAIL -> IN ART THERE IS NO RIGHT OR WRONG, SO NO FAILURE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *